London is a place. I am going to it.

Good afternoon, everyone! Riley here with a super special message.

In just a mere 8 days, I will be on a plane to London, England to study abroad for the semester. Even as I’m typing this, I still don’t fully believe it’s happening. I’ve paid the fees (or most of them), registered for classes, secured accommodation, and even signed up for events but I still can’t believe it! It has been a dream of mine to go abroad during my college years, so it’s a bit daunting that the dream is coming true. To quote Rapunzel and Flynn from Disney’s Tangled:

R: “What if it’s not everything I dreamed it would be?”

F: “It will be.”

R: “And what if it is? What do I do then?”

F: “Well, that’s the good part I guess. You get to go find a new dream.”

I guess one of the biggest things I’m afraid of is that I won’t love my time there. That I will want to come home almost immediately and I won’t give myself the chance to enjoy being on my own. However, I’ve heard plenty of stories and recommendations from friends and family alike that guarantee me I’ll love it. It’s a scary thing, to be promised an experience, but I’m willing to make it my own regardless. And if –no, when!– I fulfill this dream of mine, I will move on to another dream. But, then again, who says you can’t harness two dreams at once?!

Probably one of the best parts of this dream is that my best-friend-since-first-grade is also going with me: same school, same flat, the whole shebang! It’s insanely exciting and comforting to know that one of the people I’m closest to will be joining me on this amazing experience. I can’t wait!

I can go on and on about all of the cool things I’ll be doing and experiencing, but I’ve created a whole other blog specifically for that purpose. If you head on over to rileytakeslondon.wordpress.com, you will see all of the stuff I’m getting up to! I’ll try and upload pictures, record my experiences, reflect on things, and just generally document the next three months of my life. I’m extremely thankful and feel very blessed that I have been given this opportunity and I intend to make the most of it. Do you care to join me?

See you guys very very soon!

-Riley

Leave a Reply

