Forget “wake me up when September ends”, how about when the semester ends?

Good morning/afternoon/evening, fellow book lovers! Riley here with an update of sorts.

My life as an English major is about 75% amazing and 25% ridiculous amounts of reading and writing. Add on a Writing minor and we’re talking even more writing. I’m not complaining, but I’ll use my previous sentence as an excuse for not posting as much to BookingAwesome. You may be wondering, “Riley, you said you were going to do a read-along of Frankenstein! What happened to that?” Or “What about those other fun and fantastic books you were talking about? HAVE YOU ABANDONED US?” And to both of those questions I will not really have an answer except for NO I DIDN’T ABANDON YOU. WE DIDN’T ABANDON YOU. WE ARE NOT FINISHED HERE! ALAS, THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING! So hold on to that hope and hang on to the reigns. We’re going to have a fun ride, gosh darn it!

But seriously. As most of you know, I started my sophomore year of college this past month. Even though it’s only been a month, so much has already happened. I have probably finished around five books already (Children’s Lit being the bulk of those) and will probably read ten more by the end of semester AT LEAST. Because I have finished so many books already, it is possible that I will do book reviews on them. They may be quite quick, but short ones are better than nothing, am I right? So here are the books you can look forward to possibly seeing in a book review (and trust me, they are all great books):

  • Esperanza Rising by Pam Munoz Ryan
  • The Devil’s Arithmetic by Jane Yolen
  • Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  • currently reading One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
  • will soon be reading Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte and Blizzard! by Jim Murphy

Like I said, all of these books (except the ones I haven’t read yet) are amazing in their own right. It is possible that this week, since I have some free time (or I think I do), I could do a book review or two. So keep a look out for that!

There are plenty of exciting books on the docket for the rest of this semester, so please stay tuned. We’re not finished here! BookingAwesome will slowly become a place for children’s literature, YA literature, and the classics. There will be something for everyone! Thanks for sticking around with us, everyone. It’s been a bit rough lately, but hopefully my fellow bloggers and I will get back into the swing of things.

Until next time, DFTBA!

-Riley

Leave a Reply

