Nostalgia is the New “New”

So lately I’ve been reading a bunch of books and most of them have been new. But if any of you have read my previous post A Whole New World…but which one?, you’d know that I’m also rereading old favorites. I mentioned Harry Potter, TFioS, and a couple others. One series of books I didn’t mention, however, was Percy Jackson & the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus. I absolutely love these books and read them a couple years ago after a friend lent them to me. They are pretty simple as far as writing style goes, but that is mainly because they can be considered children’s literature. Their simple writing, though, doesn’t take away from the awesome story line and plot; I mean, who doesn’t love demigods?! I will eventually come to review the Percy Jackson series once I finish some of the books (there are 5 total), but that isn’t what this post is mainly about.

I’m here today to talk about nostalgia. In terms of the English language, nostalgia is probably one of my favorite words. It basically refers to a longing for the past or past events/feelings/etc, and I find that nostalgia is most popularly experienced in books or movies. For me, there are so many books that represent my childhood and adolescence that it is impossible not to love them and want to read them again (this is excluding picture books and the like). Some of these books include but certainly aren’t limited to the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, the Inkheart trilogy by Cornelia Funke, His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman, and the Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld. I could easily take any of these books off my bookshelf and read them without a second thought. At this point in my life, those books are mindless reading at its very best. This sort of mindless reading, however, isn’t without thought. It is mindless in the sense that I can read them, know the plot, yet still be immersed in the story.

For this reason, I’m starting to realize that nostalgia is the new “new.” Sometimes I would much rather pick up a Harry Potter book I know I’ll love than a brand new book I know nothing about. We as humans seem to like experiencing certain parts of our pasts to sort of “relive” them, or at least that’s true for me. I see nostalgia as a warm blanket on a cold night, a dip in the pool on a hot day. Nostalgic elements in books are a comfort to me as I’m sure they are to many other readers. Nostalgic books can range from children’s literature up to adult literature; it  really depends on each person.

Long story short, you readers may start seeing some nostalgic posts on this blog, whether it be about our favorite books from the past (or present) or something different. Morgan started us out with her Kiki Strike post, so let us know if this “nostalgic books” idea is something we should continue with. Also, let me know which books are nostalgic for you! I’d love to see if we share similar interests or if there are books out there that I need to check out (as I’m sure there always are)!

Until then, DFTBA!

-Riley

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia is the New “New”

    1. That’s exactly how I feel! It feels magical and different to me every time I read the books. I always find some connection or plot point that I never noticed before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

