A Whole New World… but which one?

I am stuck, as I’m sure many of us readers are, in an endless battle between books. I have so many books on my bookshelf that are either waiting to be read for the first time or reread for the umpteenth time. I’m going to make a list because really I have nothing else to do.

Waiting to be read:

  • Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
  • All of the Beautiful Creatures novels (gee, thanks mom)
  • “A Streetcar Named Desire” by Tennessee Williams
  • “Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead” by Tom Stoppard
  • The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore

Reread:

  • All of the Harry Potter books (or at least 4-7 considering I’ve read 1-3 to the point of exhaustion)
  • The Inkeart trilogy (guilty pleasure)
  • His Dark Materials
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
  • So many more that I just can’t write them all!

Honestly, I don’t think this list is nearly as bad as it could be. I just want to read all of these books by the end of summer! After I finish Insurgent I planned on reading Beautiful Creatures… is that a wise choice? Let me know.

I think out of all decisions I have had to make in my lifetime thus far, finding the next book to read is one of the hardest. Deciding on a new book isn’t just deciding what author or writing style to endure, it’s more like deciding which world you want to explore. With so many worlds at my fingertips, how can I possibly choose? Especially now that I am nearing the end of Insurgent, how do I make the seamless switch between a dystopia and a purely fantasy world?

I plan to finish Insurgent today at some point. If that does happen, I will inform you all on what world I will enter next! I know, you’re all shaking in your boots. Until next time, DFTBA!

-Riley

6 thoughts on “A Whole New World… but which one?

  1. I also haven’t read the Beautiful Creatures series, and NEED too! I listened to part of the first one on audiobook on a road trip, and initially thought that that I didn’t really love it and switched to a different one. However I am pretty sure that I just really disliked the guy narrating it, so I really want to give them another chance. Let us know what you thought about it and maybe I’ll need to go out an buy a print copy! Also, have fun finishing up Insurgent, excited to read your thoughts on it!

    Like

    1. My mom is finishing up the last one; she bought the paperbacks as she read them, so I’m good in that department! I want to start reading them because she claims they were really good; so I will definitely keep you updated! Also, it should be fun writing the review for Insurgent… keep an eye out! :D

      Like

    1. I really like Game of Thrones, but I guess the large page count kind of intimidates me. I hate to admit that, but I’ll pick it up and kind of get a feeling that I won’t finish it due to the number of pages.

      Like

  2. I had very mixed thoughts on Beautiful Creatures, I’ve read the first and second book now and while something about them keeps me coming back for more it’s also very rough around the edges. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

