Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Rating: 10.0 out of 10.0 – Awesome!

I’ve been meaning to get back into dystopias lately, and Divergent by Veronica Roth seemed like the perfect place to start. I had high expectations when I began the book, mainly because I have a Tumblr and basically everyone talks about it there. So, I figured why not? The book is over 450 pages and I was captivated from the beginning.

The book is written in first person present tense, similar to the writing style Suzanne Collins uses in the Hunger Games. I believe the first person perspective really gives the reader an insight into the thought processes and personal feelings the main character has towards every situation. The only minor thing about having a first person point of view is that sometimes the narrator can be unreliable. I have no problem with unreliable narrators, but sometimes I forget they even exist. So maybe this is more a problem to myself than to others… (lol)

One of my favorite things about Divergent is the take Roth takes with dystopian societies. The world is broken up into 5 factions: Abnegation, Amity, Candor, Dauntless, and Erudite. Each faction deals with a specific idea, and ideally they are all supposed to form a utopian society together. Every child is born into a faction based on which faction their parents are a part of, but at the age of 16 a choice has to be made. Every 16 year-old takes an aptitude test that judges his or her reactions to various situations to form an idea of which faction he or she should choose. The suggestion is not the choice, but only that: a suggestion.

Of course the main character, Beatrice Prior of Abnegation, is a special case in that she is Divergent, meaning not belonging to any one faction but many. Divergence is seen as a threat and those who are Divergent must keep it a secret. But as the events of the book continue, it becomes harder for Beatrice to conceal her true identity.

Overall, I give Divergent10.0/10.0. This may seem rather generous, but I absolutely loved the book. It captured my attention from page one and continued until the very last page. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially lovers of dystopian novels!

-Riley

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

